You are here » Home > New Zealand > Country Map & Region information > Northland



Northland includes all of the country north of Greater Auckland and is made up of the following regions:

FAR NORTH - includes Rawene, Opononi and Kaikohe
KAURI COAST - includes Dargaville, Matakohe, Kaiwaka and the Waipoua Forest
BAY OF ISLANDS - includes Kerikeri, Waitangi, Paihia, Russell, Cape Brett, Opua and Kawakawa
WHANGAREI - includes Oakura, Tutukaka, Whangarei, Bream Bay, Waipu and Mangawhai



  The sub-tropical north is a land of rolling, sometimes rugged countryside, tidal estuaries and mangroves, sparkling island-studded bays and long silvery beaches. In the more rugged areas are remnants of lush sub-tropical forest featuring giant kauri, which are among the largest trees in the world. It is an area of considerable historical significance, and is the place where Maori and European signed the Treaty of Waitangi that joined them as one nation. As one of the first regions visited and settled by Europeans, the region has the oldest European villages in New Zealand and many historic buildings.
Main attractions & activities

  Northland is a favourite playground for lovers of anything aquatic. With 144 islands, the Bay of Islands is renowned for diving, boating, swimming, dolphin tours and big game fishing. Inland, hiking trails and short walks in the native forests lead to some of the largest and oldest trees in the world.

Cape Reinga - where the Tasman Sea meets the Pacific Ocean - is one of the most northern spots in New Zealand. Coach tours to the Cape drive along the flat, white sands of Ninety Mile Beach - an historic "highway" (actually only 64 miles or 103 km long) that is very popular with surfcasters and surfers.
To get there

  Regular domestic air services connect to Northland's three airports - Whangarei, Kerikeri and Kaitaia. Alternatively catch a coach or self-drive from Auckland.


Web design New Zealand by Wolters Kluwer

Copyright - The Innovative Travel Company Limited ©