You are here » Home > New Zealand > Country Map & Region information > Auckland


The Auckland region includes four cities - Auckland, Manaukau, North Shore and Waitakere; and three districts - Franklin, Rodney and Papakura. 




Auckland is the main gateway to New Zealand and the centre of commerce and industry. With a population of about one point five million, it is New Zealand's largest urban area. Auckland offers something for everyone - great beaches, a beautiful harbour, fantastic shopping, and the nightlife and culture of a metropolitan city.

Right on Auckland's doorstep is the magnificent Hauraki Gulf stretching in a great 250 km sweep of coastline north and south of the city. Nicknamed the City of Sails, Auckland has the highest density of pleasure boats in the world. Opportunities abound for sailing and cruising activities.

& activities


A diversity of landscape provides an inviting playground for the adventure seeker. Some of the world's finest and freshest cuisine, including an array of seafood delicacies and award-winning wines, are found in the city and environs.

A multi-cultured city, Auckland offers all the amenities and attractions associated with a sophisticated cosmopolitan city, including galleries, museums, theatre and concerts. All of these have the distinctive blend of Polynesian and European themes.

To get there


Auckland has the largest international airport in New Zealand. Two domestic terminals allow frequent and accessible flights throughout the country.


Web design New Zealand by Wolters Kluwer

Copyright - The Innovative Travel Company Limited ©